‘Absolutely Shocking Decision’ – Four Moments From Ireland’s Win Over England Under The Spotlight
‘Absolutely Shocking Decision’ – Four Moments from Ireland’s Win Over England Under the Spotlight
Ireland’s dramatic 27-22 victory over England in the 2025 Six Nations opener was packed with tension, excitement, and moments of controversy. As the Aviva Stadium buzzed with anticipation, Ireland overcame an early deficit to secure the win, but not without a few questionable calls from the referee. Rugby fans on social media have been abuzz with opinions on four key moments during the match that left many scratching their heads.
Some believe these moments went unnoticed, while others are adamant that the decisions were wrong.
Moment One: The Tackle on Tom Curry – Was It a Head Shot? 🤔
Perhaps the most debated moment of the match came in the 59th minute when Ireland’s captain, Caelan Doris, made a crucial tackle on England’s flanker, Tom Curry. It seemed that Doris’s shoulder made contact with Curry’s head during the challenge, but the New Zealand referee, Ben O'Keeffe, dismissed it as an accidental collision.
Despite numerous replays showing the potential for head contact, the decision was made not to penalize Doris, leading to a significant outcry on social media.
Former England back Austin Healey took to X (formerly Twitter) to question the decision, writing, “How is that not a head shot on Curry?” The comments flooded in from fans who were furious with the call. One frustrated fan tweeted, “Had me absolutely screaming at the TV considering it sounds like the TMO came in and flagged it.
” Others echoed the sentiment, with one user labeling it as “Absolutely shocking decision.”
Referees Come Under Fire – Was the Call ‘Disgusting’? 😡
The response from fellow referees only intensified the criticism. Kevin Swindlehurst, a referee himself, stated he was “disgusted” by the lack of a penalty for Doris. “I’m actually disgusted at the officiating of this game. That’s a high tackle, and to me, it’s a yellow card,” Swindlehurst wrote, adding that while Doris’ tackle could have been mitigated by a change of direction, it was still reckless.
The article is not finished. Click on the next page to continue.
The article is not finished. Click on the next page to continue.